Skip to content

Craft meets Music

May 22, 2010

[tweetmeme source=”poptartlondon”]

If you’re a. female b. like music and c. partial to well designed, unusual jewellery then you’re going to love this post. Though I should probably say now that I’m biased. On Thursday I went to a late night opening of my friend An’s new jewellery exhibition at Craft Central in Clerkenwell.

An, a RCA graduate who exhibits at Tate Modern and many other cool, design-focused places, fashions incredible jewellery from everyday objects. For this new exhibition she’s recycled old vinyl records (yes really!) into gorgeous new wearable rings:

necklaces:

brooches:

and many other fab earrings. Many of An’s pieces are bespoke using gold, silver and diamonds so the price tag isn’t high street. But then with such unusual jewellery you get what you pay for. That said, her prices range from £15 to £3000 so there’s something for everyone.

Her jewellery is a real talking point. Whenever I wear a pair of vinyl bracelets (song unknown – I do hope I’m not wearing Cliff Richard round my wrist) I always get asked about them.

An’s “Craft meets Music” exhibition with Evelin Kasikov’s embroidered paper inspired by album covers runs at Craft Central until Friday 28th May. Or buy online at OXx jewellery.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

